Employee Assistance Program (EAP)

At no cost, City of Boston employees and their family members are eligible to participate in an Employee Assistance Program (EAP). The EAP is a comprehensive benefit for those looking for solutions to a wide variety of personal and workplace problems such as grief, daily stress, depression, and drug dependency. The EAP’s staff members are mental health professionals who are trained to listen, counsel, and refer employees and their family members to appropriate services if necessary. Confidentiality is of paramount importance, and no one at BPS can gain access to a person’s EAP records without his or her written permission.

Employee Assistance Program (EAP)
Monday – Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
152 North Street, North End (by the Callahan/Sumner Tunnels)
MBTA: Government Center or Haymarket
Call 617-635-2200 to schedule an appointment or ask a question. If there is an urgent call after business hours, call 617-635-4500 and ask to page the EAP staff person on-call.

 

Resources to Help Address Domestic Violence, Sexual Harassment/Abuse/Sexual Assault, or Bullying

For BPS Employees and BPS Students:

  • The BPS Health & Wellness Department–  Jill Carter, Executive Director, 160 Harrishof Street, Dorchester MA 02119 617-635-1631/jcarter@boston.k12.ma.us
  • The BPS Homeless Student Initiative (resources for homeless families as well) – 617-635-8037 Mary William mwilliam@boston.k12.ma.us and Donna Casali, dcasali@boston.k12.ma.us
  • The BPS Police/School Safety – Chief Eric Weston, Boston Latin Academy Building 213 Townsend Street Dorchester, MA 02121 617-635-8000/eweston@boston.k12.ma.us
  • The BPD Department of Human Resources – Ann Chan, Asst. Supt. 26 Court Street 3rd Fl, Boston MA 02108 617-635-6402/achan3@boston.k12.ma.us (Pertaining to Employees Only)
  • The BPS Department of Labor Relations – Virginia Tisei 617-635-1577, vtisei@boston.k12.ma.us (Pertaining to Employees Only)
  • City of Boston Employee Assistance Program (EAP) – 617-635-2200 (see above for more information)

Public Resources:

  • The Mayor’s Hotline – refers people to Safelink – a 24-hour Domestic Violence Hotline (English and Spanish) 877-785-2020. Run by Casa Myrna Vazquez Boston:  a community-based multicultural organization dedicated to the eradication of domestic violence. Casa Myrna Vazquez offers direct services to women & children, including emergency and transitional shelters, welfare, legal, mental health, and child advocacy.
  • City of Boston Emergency Shelter Commission – 617-635-4507, now part of Boston Public Health Commission eshelter@bphc.org